top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Girardi

Support Black Authors

"I understand that I will never understand, but I stand."


This is a quote that I've seen circulating on social media. And, for me as a white woman, it couldn't be more true. I will never understand the adversity black people face just because of the color of their skin. I will never truly understand their history, or the injustices they are still dealing with even in the 21st century. But I am listening, I am educating myself, and I am trying to become a better ally.


Black lives matter. Simple as that, or at least it should be. Racism is an ugly beast and unfortunately still alive, and we all need to fight against it and to show support for our fellow black Americans. In a small way to show my support, below are a list of novels by black authors that I recommend. Additionally, there is a list of some black-owned bookstores that you can support.


We cannot afford to remain silent. In whatever way you can, please, I urge you, support the BLM movement. Sign petitions, donate, educate yourself and others - every step, no matter how small, is crucial.


*Photos linked to Amazon



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page