top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Girardi

Author Feature: Gillian Flynn

Today, I'm starting what will be a new series on the blog! It's called "Author Feature" and in these posts, I will pick an author whose work I absolutely love, and basically just fan girl about it LOL. I'll talk about their books, which one is my favorite (if I'm able to even choose), their upcoming projects, and any other little tidbits and facts I can find and share.


I'd love to know, who are your favorite authors? Is there any feature you'd be interested in seeing? If I've read their work, I'd love to give them some love on this blog.


Naturally, I must start with my own favorite author. She inspires me to be a better writer, to make my stories as twisted and messed up and unpredictable as possible (high goals right here). So today, let's talk about Gillian Flynn!


This woman is a the epitome of a triple threat. She's an author, a screenwriter, and she was an executive producer for her own book to TV adaptation. You probably remember the thriller/mystery movie hit in 2014, Gone Girl? That beautifully gritty, chilling, and shocking movie? Well, this woman is the brains behind it all.


I loved the movie Gone Girl. I saw it in college, and right across from the theater was a Barnes and Noble, which I basically ran to so I could buy all of Flynn's books ASAP.


There's just something about her books that are so unsettling, yet also so addictive. I don't think I actually like a single one of her chacaters. Flynn takes this idea that women are damsels in distress or victims, and does a complete 180 with it. Everyone has the capacity for cruely, and Flynn does not shy away from this. The women in her novels have dark pasts. They're twisted and disturbing, complex and haunting, and completely unpredictable. They are the ones you want to be cautious around.


Creepy, ominous, eerie, sinister - these are just a few words that come to mind when I think of Gillian Flynn's work. She gets to the darkest part of the human psyche, sucking you in with her words when all you want to do is pull away, but you can't. No matter how dark - and even nasty - her books get, I can never put them down. I am always dying to know how everything plays out, to the point of obsession. Healthy? No. But completely engrossing, and has my mind whirring? Hell yes.


Flynn has three full length novels, and one short story released. I am eagerly and impatiently waiting for her next novel! My favorite is definitely Sharp Objects, but I so enjoyed all of her books very much. If you're into heavy, hard-hitting books, pick up any of hers. You will not be disappointed.

  • Gone Girl has a movie adaptation, Flynn wrote the screenplay

  • Sharp Objects has a limited TV series available on HBO, Flynn was an executive producer and cowriter alongside Marti Noxon

  • Dark Places has a movie adaptation

  • The Grownup (short story) has been optioned by Universal


*Photos link to Amazon


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page